To P.R.A.Y.

My relationship with “my” God is a relatively casual one.  I talk to Him often and like He is my best friend.  Mainly because He is!  I often find myself thanking Him for being so generous with me.  I laugh at things that happen quite a bit.  He has a wonderful sense of humor.  And He gets mine, which is always a plus.  🙂  I tell Him when I’m upset or angry….and I really let Him have it when I think it’s “all His fault.”  Thank goodness that doesn’t happen often!

As much as I adore the relationship I have built with Him, there are times in my life when I am so overwhelmed with whatever emotion might be building up in me, that I can’t seem to focus or find a way to communicate my thoughts and feelings to God.  I know He always knows, but if you are one who prays, have you ever just found yourself not able to do so?

I was at a lecture once and someone in the audience voiced a very similar concern about not being able to focus and find a way to pray.  This is what was offered . . . .it has helped me on quite a few occasions to find my focus and it is my hope that perhaps in some way, it can help you too:

P. . . . Praise!  Give thanks.  Praise the Lord for all He is and all He does.  I don’t let myself close my eyes at night without voicing my gratitude for at least 3 things that day.  And the first words out of my mouth each morning are “thank you”, even before I put my feet on the floor.

R. . . . Repent!  Asking for forgiveness for whatever is in your heart to ask forgiveness for can bring much peace to a person I feel.  If I am truly sorry for my mistakes, then I find He helps me to do better and be better.  And it lightens the load that my heart is carrying.

A. . . .Ask!  If you are a parent, think about how very much you want to give your children all that will make them happy and thrive.  We are all children of God.  He wants to make us even happier than we can ever imagine.  We just need to ask.  At this point I usually find myself focused and aware of exactly what it is I need from God at that moment.

Y. . . . Yield!  If we can just be still and listen, the answer will come.  Please don’t think I am saying it will always be the answer we want, but the answer will come.  And just like parents enjoy watching their children sleep, when we yield to God, we give Him the opportunity to just look upon us with love.  We don’t need to say or do anything, we just need to stop and be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To P.R.A.Y.

  1. Michelle says:

    Wow. Thank you. I think I can actually remember that acronym, and I will use it well.

  2. Kris TX says:

    Today, I came across this acronym for B.I.B.L.E – Basic Instruction Before Leaving Earth
    Love it!!!

Leave a Reply

