The Anti Passion

A number of years ago I worked in a school where my principal would stand up in front of the entire middle school each week and tell the students to figure out their passion in life and run with it!  He would tell them that without a passion, there was definitely something missing in their life and they had to keep working to find it.

Inevitably, I would break into a cold sweat, have a mini silent panic attack, and leave the auditorium feeling like a failure at life.  I didn’t have a passion. How could I be an effective role model for my students when I didn’t have a passion?

When I shared my fear with friends, their immediate response was, “Mo, you love children.  You teach them everyday.  Children are your passion.”  No.  They aren’t.  Yes, I love them.  Yes, I work with them every single day.  But, no.  They are not my passion.  There was something bigger out there.  I could sense it.  But I didn’t know what it was and that terrified me.  What if I left this world and never fulfilled my passion?  What if my purpose in life was left hanging in the rafters because I never found it?

I still, to this very day, do not know what my passion is.  I know I have a myriad of interests. Those interests could be categorized under the umbrella of wanting to help others, but I can be completely engulfed in one area of helping others one week and the very next day move onto another way of helping a completely different group of people.

The good news?  I no longer break into that cold sweat over not having a passion.  And this is for all you readers  out there who may find yourself in a similar situation . . . .you just can’t seem to identify a passion for yourself in this life.

In my opinion (and experience), it’s not about finding your passion in life.  It’s about living your life as you see fit.  Being present in the moment – good or bad – knowing we are where we are supposed to be, doing what we are supposed to be doing.  Knowing we were led to this moment and place, and at this very moment, knowing this space was made sacred specifically for us.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Anti Passion

  1. Steve Ruzansky says:

    Maybe a passion in life. But you, Mo, surely have a passion FOR life. Party On in life! You are awesome!

  2. mo22tivation says:

    Thanks, Ruz! Right back at ya in the awesomeness department 🙂

Leave a Reply

