Now What??

My 25th college reunion is fast approaching.  25th!!!!  2 – 5 !!!!  Oh my!!!

The best four years of my life may have been my college years.  And even better, is that I knew they were great years while I was in them.  I knew I would never have the same opportunity to hang out with my friends every single day, eat 2 hour long dinners, nap every afternoon, watch whatever I wanted on television, for as long as I wanted, have every meal prepared for me and eat as much as I wanted . . . .oh I could go on and on . . .. college is the world’s four year gift to us.  Relatively speaking, no bills, no responsibilities, no parents! 🙂  Just me, my friends, and a whole lot of “do what I want”.

I remember the day I sashayed across The Connelly Green, up the rickety steps, and across the stage to President Brown to receive my diploma.  My personal fans were sitting on the lawn hooting and hollering for me and all I had accomplished.  Life was perfect!  I turned with that coveted piece of paper in my left hand and threw both arms up in the air, as I looked out over the audience to find my family.  And I almost fainted!

NOW WHAT?????

What the heck did I know about the “real world” ?  Absolutely nothing!  As a math major, I had conquered “Diffi Q” and “Molten Magic” (that one’s for you, Kris!! 🙂 )  And sure, I had learned how to do my own laundry and I could cook up a mean bowl of mac and cheese or Ramen noodles.  I had even just recently acquired my very own credit card.  I could balance my own checkbook and I can proudly say never once did I overdraw while in college.  I had gotten myself through a few interviews and even had a job that I would start in September.  Yet, I knew absolutely.  nothing.

So reliving that feeling of stumbling down those steps got me thinking about the last 25 years and what exactly I had learned from The School of Life.   If you have been following my blog, you may have seen my post titled,  The Letter , where I do a bit of reflecting on my life over the past twenty years or so.  Today, I take a different approach and list 25 things I have accomplished since that beautiful sunny day in May of 1991 when I realized I knew absolutely nothing . . . .

  1.  I got a job!  In fact, since graduating, I have gotten myself 5 different jobs, all doing exactly what I wanted to be doing at that time.
  2. I have bought and traded 4 cars on my own!  I don’t think I need to explain what a huge accomplishment that is as a female in this world.
  3. I am a proud home owner 2 times over!  Again . . . completely on my own.
  4. More than 3,500 young people have passed through my classroom doors successfully!
  5. I am an “official” aunt 5 times over and an “unofficial” aunt countless times over and have formed lasting and meaningful relationships with each of my nieces and nephews.
  6. I am a godmother to 4 exceptional young people.
  7. I completed the Philly Marathon in under 5 hours. (and I am not your typical runner!)
  8. I have traveled to Ireland and France.
  9. I have visited (not just passed through) 31 of the United States.
  10. I went skydiving!
  11. I went cliff diving!
  12. I’ve been to Space Camp (by myself and with 50 students in tow)
  13. I rode the back of a bull (ok – a mechanical one – but I did it!!)
  14. I have taken a hotair balloon ride twice!
  15. I have milked a cow and learned to ride a horse.
  16. I have been in the audience of 2 different Popes.
  17. I have survived cancer 3 times over.
  18. I have spoken to a crowd of more than 500 people.
  19. I have sat at the bedside of a dying friend.
  20. I have run my own small business.
  21. I have helped to build a home.
  22. I have been on national television.
  23. I have coached an undefeated basketball team 2 seasons!
  24. I have personally experienced what it is like to truly forgive and to be truly forgiven.
  25. I have learned to love myself, flaws and all!  🙂

I think these past 25 years have been pretty successful!  I still find myself turning around sometimes and thinking NOW WHAT?? but I do it with more confidence and the profound belief of knowing I am not ever alone in this world.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Now What??

  1. Kris TX says:

    Molton Magic and Difficult Q – HA! Thanks for throwing me a bone, Mo! Those sure were the good old days! Some of the very best years of our lives. Loved reading about the 25 things you have accomplished since graduation day! How fun to reminisce over the past 25 years! You have inspired me to write my list of 25 meaningful memories. Can’t wait to see what my list looks like. 😊

  2. mo22tivation says:

    I want to see that list!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

