Things People Say

A little while back, I wrote a post (What Time is it?) about a conversation I overheard while registering for a few tests at the hospital.  I often amuse myself with things I hear people say or with things I find myself saying that are flat out ridiculous but find their way out of our mouths anyway.  I thought I would share some of them with you.  Hopefully they make you chuckle as well.  🙂

 

*     “Please state your zipcode, one digit at a time.”  When I first heard this I chuckled because, well, how do I say more than one digit at a time?  Then I realized that if my zipcode were 12345, I guess they don’t want me to say 12, 345 or some such thing.  But right off the bat, it made me laugh!

 

*     An angry man to his apparent wife. . .“Why am I the only one who has to do this?  Why don’t YOU take the test and see if this baby is really YOURS!”   

 

*     I recently asked one of the techs in dialysis if he had children.

HIM: Yes, three of them.  A 24 year old and twins who are 5.  My girl just graduated from college.

ME:  Oh, that’s great!  Which one?

HIM:  The 24 year old.

 

*     I visit an elderly woman every so often.  The other day she was complaining that she was sore from a fall in the food store.

ME: I’m sorry, Helen.  Where did you hurt yourself?

HER: The frozen food aisle..

 

*   About a week ago, I visited a friend as she was feeding her son dinner.  On his plate he had a slice of pizza, french fries slathered in ketchup, a side bowl of pasta with sauce, and a little salad with Catalina dressing.  He could hardly wait to dig in.  I reached for a cherry tomato from a bowl sitting on the counter.  “I hate tomatoes!”, he said.   I didn’t have the heart to ruin his dinner.  🙂

 

I’ll be here all night!  hahahaha . . . . .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

