Gratefully Yours #22

Today is the birthday of one of my very favorite people in the universe!  We have known each other for almost 30 years!!!!  Good grief that is a long time!  In those almost 30 years, I don’t think we have ever argued!  I suppose there have been times that one of us was annoyed with the other for some ridiculous reason  or maybe we wished a choice the other made was different, but we have always just accepted each other for who we are and respected the other’s ways.  If that isn’t something to be grateful for, I don’t know what is!

K and I met in college.  I was a transfer student and K welcomed me into her group of friends the first day we met.  It happened that we were both math and education majors at our very small college, with less than ten people in our major.  We were friends instantly.  We just clicked.  We found the same things funny.  We shared a compassion for other people and found ourselves involved in the same activities.  And I thank God every single day I had her to struggle through the challenges of a math major with, because oh good grief did we struggle at times!

Graduation happened and we both went back to live in our home towns.  I never worried about what that space – time difference would mean because I just knew we would remain close friends.  And we have.  K got married, had kids, moved with her family even further away from where I was living and yet we still managed to connect with each other as if nothing had ever changed.  Just this past summer, K left her busy family life behind to hop a plane and come visit with me for awhile because she was worried about me and my health . . . and just because THAT is how she lives her life . . .concerned about the other person and available at the drop of a hat.

We still laugh across the miles if something happens that reminds of us of our college days.  We still call on each other for help solving math problems as her kids grow older and my students get smarter 🙂 .  We still connect on a heart to heart level when we chat. And I know we always will.  K will always be one of the most precious gifts I have ever been given in this lifetime and I do not take one bit of our friendship for granted.

Happy Birthday, K!  I am so grateful for you every single second of every single day!  You are the corn to my muffin, the calm to my needing to “get a grip”, and the MAGIC to my life’s very existence!  I love you forever!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gratefully Yours #22

  1. Kris TX says:

    Awww Mo, that was such a sweet post and truly means so much to me! I sit here with tear in my eyes as I comment back to you. I truly don’t think I could top that post but wanted to let you know that YOU and YOUR FRIENDSHIP mean the world to me. YOU are one of the biggest blessings in my life! I am so thankful we met on campus almost 30 years ago and so thankful for all the years we have loved, supported, encouraged, laughed, cried and shared our lives together. You are my biggest inspiration and the strongest person I know! Your heart is filled with kindness and your compassion for others runs deep. Thank you for being such and amazing friend and for being YOU! Love you Mo!!!

Leave a Reply

