100 and Counting . . .

Today I am thinking about the role the number 100 plays in my life.  In my younger days, I worked really hard to see that number plastered at the top of my papers and tests and quizzes.  As a senior in high school, I anxiously looked forward to our “100 Days Celebration” as the countdown to graduation began. My first home was actually priced at just about $100, 000!  What a bargain!!  And so forth and so on .. . I have many instances that surround themselves with that number.  One hundred often seems like the mark of perfection.  Depending on what it is we are doing, it is a nice round number, maybe not too big or too small, and just plain easy to remember.

So today, right here, right now, this is my 100th post!  Although this space was originally set up back in 2010, I really started writing on a fairly regular basis in March 2016.  Now, nine months later, reaching that marker of 100 posts has me thinking about my goals for this space I have created . . .what were (or are) my goals for this space?  Have I met them so far?  Have they changed since that fist post?  What are my future plans?  Have I enjoyed being in this space?  What have I learned? . . . .

My original goal for this blog was to help prepare me for writing a book.  I thought I would gather little bits and pieces I wanted to include in my book and maybe give myself a solid foundation for writing one eventually.  Although I didn’t immediately throw out my idea for writing a book, I began to switch my goals a bit to just wanting to share some personal experiences that might help my readers to cope or to think a bit deeper or to change something for the better in their own lives.  I can only hope that desire has been true, but I do know writing this blog has served ME in that sense.  I definitely think deeper about many things that would have otherwise passed me by on a regular basis.  I think one of my favorite posts is Family Ties, because it has caused me to think much more deeply about the connections we have with others, even if we don’t know them personally.  It helps me remember that people come and go in our lives; some stay, some don’t, some for an extended time, some for a fleeting moment . . . ALL with purpose.

According to the stats I have accumulated, the post that got the most attention was The Letter.  That was another of my favorites, so I am happy that my readers enjoyed it as well.  I think it is important to reflect . . .not to regret, but to make ourselves aware and then gain the MO-mentum to move forward so we become better than before.

My least favorite posts have been the few that have brought attention to some negative aspect of my life.  They are difficult to write because I know how blessed I am and I wish to focus on my blessings, rather than the struggles that are likely to come into my life.  I wrote them with the purpose of keeping this space somewhat relatable.  Noone has a perfect life and I think it is important to reflect on the difficult situations so that we can learn from them as well.

So today, on this 100th “post-iversary”, I thank you so much for coming along on the journey with me.  Some amazing conversations and connections have been made from this space and I am so grateful for all of them!  Please continue to come along with me as we do our best to live our best lives!

(Visit #SullysJingleBellRAK on twitter.) 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 100 and Counting . . .

  1. Shalzzz says:

    Happy 100th!! 🙂 May you’ve lots more to write on!

  2. Parul Thakur says:

    Happy 100th! I know it means a lot so keep writing and keep reaching those milestones. It’s a lovely feeling 🙂

Leave a Reply

